Tennessee (TN) Pharmacy Technician

There are some important things for you to know, and steps for you to take, if you are pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician. If you want to be successful, it is important to understand the process and to take the rules and regulations into consideration.

Are Pharmacy Technicians Regulated In Tennessee?

Yes they are regulated.

Is Certification Required In Tennessee To Practice As A Pharmacy Technician?

No certification is required.

Which Of the Certification Exams Are Approved By Tennessee?

None of the certification exams are required by the state of Tennessee.

What Are the Registration Dates?

You must register before you can practice as a pharmacy technician.

Is A License Required?

Yes a license is required; you must get your license before you can begin employment as a pharmacy technician.

The Tennessee State Board of Pharmacy Information

Tennessee Department of Health
Health Related Boards
Tennessee Board of Pharmacy
227 French Landing, Suite 300
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 253-1299
website: http://health.state.tn.us

Are There Any Professional Associations?

The Tennessee Pharmacists Association, which can be reached at www.tnpharm.org.

What Are the Requirements To Get Registered?

  • 1. You must submit a statement claiming you have good moral character.
  • 2. Submit an affidavit that states that you have read through and understand all of the laws and regulations that pertain to pharmacies in the state of Tennessee.
  • 3. Be a U.S. citizen.
  • 4. You may not have any felony convictions.
  • 5. With your notarized $50 non refundable application fee included, you must request registration with the Tennessee State Board of Pharmacy by submitting an application. You can find the application at:http://health.state.tn.us/Downloads/Pharm_TechnicianApplication.pdf.

Is Training Required?

No, there is no required training.

Are There Any Continuing Education (CE) Requirements?

No, there are no CE requirements.

When Is Renewal Required?

Pharmacy technician registration renewal is required every 2 years. Renewals can be done online.

What If I Relocate Or I Change Jobs?

If you move or change employers, a change of address form must be submitted, you can obtain this form from the division’s website at: http://health.state.tn.us/Boards/pharmacy/PDFs/PH4040.pdf.

Additional Information about Pharmacy Technicians Requirements in Tennessee:

  • 6. Pharmacy technicians must wear name tags that identify themselves as a technician at all times during each work shift.
  • 7. Certified pharmacy technicians are able to receive new or transferred oral medical prescription orders.
  • 8. The pharmacist in charge may supervise 2 technicians at one time, unless one technician is certified, in which case the pharmacist in charge may supervise 3 technicians.
  • 9. Certified pharmacy technicians must display evidence of their certification at their place of employment, they must also keep proof of certification, as well as registration, at all times during their work shift.

Average Salary for Pharmacy Technicians in Tennessee:

Based on the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics the estimated mean annual wage for Pharmacy Technicians in the state of Tennessee as of May 2008 is, $28,140. Although Tennessee pharmacy technicians do make a little bit less than the national average, the salaries have increased tremendously, by about $400 each year between 2006 and 2012. Throughout the nation, pharmacy technicians are averaging about $28,400 each year, with the top ten percent earning about an average of $41,880 and the bottom ten percent averaging $20,310 per year.

South Dakota (SD) Pharmacy Technician

There are some important things for you to know, and steps for you to take, if you are pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician. If you want to be successful, it is important to understand the process and to take the rules and regulations into consideration.

Are Pharmacy Technicians Regulated In South Dakota?

Yes they are regulated.

Is Certification Required In South Dakota To Practice As A Pharmacy Technician?

No, certification is not required.

Which Of the Certification Exams Are Approved By South Dakota?

There are no certification exams approved by South Dakota.

What Are the Registration Dates?

It is important that you register within 30 days of the start of your employment. If you are a technician in training, you must register before you can start any onsite training.

Is A License Required?

Yes a license is required.

The South Dakota State Board of Pharmacy Information

Office: 3701 West 49th Street, Suite 204
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone: 605-362-2737
website: http://doh.sd.gov/boards/pharmacy

Are There Any Professional Associations?

The South Dakota Pharmacists Association, they can be reached at http://www.sdpha.org.

What Are the Requirements To Get Licensed?

  • 1. You should be employed as a pharmacy technician and get registered within the first month of beginning your employment.
  • 2. Or you may also register and be in a technician in training program.
  • 3. With your $25 non refundable application fee included, you should request registration with the South Dakota State Board of Pharmacy by submitting a written application. You can download the application from their website athttp://doh.sd.gov/Boards/pharmacy/Forms/TechnicianApplication.pdf

Will Training Be Required?

Yes, the supervising pharmacist (pharmacist in charge) at your place of employment will be responsible for all of the training.

Are There Any Requirements For Continuing Education (CE)?

No, there are no requirements for continuing education.

When Will Renewal Be Required?

Renewal is required annually. Registrations expire on October 31st every year. The cost for renewal is $25. Usually, you can expect to receive your renewal application one month before the expiration.

What If I Relocate or I Change Employers?

If you move or change jobs, it is your responsibility to report these changes. These changes should be reported within 10 days, in writing, to the State Board of Pharmacy.

Additional Information about Pharmacy Technicians Requirements in South Dakota:

    • 4. Pharmacy technicians must wear name tags that identify themselves as a technician at all times during each shift.
    • 5. A pharmacy technician may only perform pharmacy tasks that do not require any professional judgment.
    • 6. The pharmacist in charge is responsible for all of the pharmacy technician’s actions.
    • 7. The pharmacist in charge may supervise up to 2 pharmacy technicians at a time. Unless in a mail service pharmacy, where the pharmacist in charge may supervise 4 technicians, as long as 2 of them are certified.

In South Dakota, you won’t have to worry about too much competition if pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician. According to the recent figures that were released by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, there are only 1.240 pharmacy technicians in the state. The number of pharmacy technicians is very small for the state, but this will change based on the overall job growth percentage of 32 percent, which guarantees that there will be more applicants as well as professionals in the next decade.

South Carolina (SC) Pharmacy Technician

There are some important things for you to know, and steps for you to take, if you are pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician. It’s important to understand the process and rules before you get started.

Are Pharmacy Technicians Regulated In South Carolina?

Yes they are.

Does South Carolina Require Certification To Practice As A Pharmacy Technician?

Yes, although you may start working and register while you are still in the process of obtaining either your national or your state certification.

Which Of the Certification Exams Are Approved By South Carolina?

The PTCB (PTCE).

What Are the Registration Dates?

Before you can begin employment, you must apply for and receive proof of your registration.

Is A License Required?

Yes a license is required.

The South Carolina State Board of Pharmacy Information

South Carolina Department of Labor Licensing and Regulation – Board of Pharmacy
Address: Synergy Business Park, Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Drive, Suite 202
Columbia, SC 29210
Mail: PO Box 11927
Columbia, S.C. 29211-1927
Phone: (803) 896-4700
Fax: (803) 896-4596
website: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Pharmacy/index.asp?file=pub.htm

Are There Any Professional Associations?

The South Carolina Pharmacy Association, which can be reached at www.scrx.org.

What Are the Requirements To Become Licensed and Certified By the State of South Carolina?

  • 1. You must be at least 18 years of age.
  • 2. You should have your high school diploma or the equivalent.
  • 3. Complete 1,000 hours of work at a minimum as a pharmacy technician whom is given a limited amount of responsibilities.
  • 4. Complete a pharmacy technician training course approved by the board.
  • 5. With your $40 non refundable application fee, and a copy of your social security card, you must submit your written pharmacy technician registration application to the South Carolina State Board of Pharmacy and request your registration.
  • 6. It is also important that you submit the Affidavit of Eligibility.

Is There Any Training That Is Required?

Yes, the license requires you to complete a training program that is approved by the State Board of Pharmacy.

Are There Any Continuing Education (CE) Requirements?

Yes there are requirements for continuing education. It is required in South Carolina that you complete 10 hours of CE by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education or CME board approved CE courses, per a 1 year renewal period. Four of those hours will require you to attend seminars, lectures, or workshops. Those who are nationally certified will be required to undertake 20 CE units every 2 years.

When Is Renewal Required?

Renewal is required annually. There is a $15 renewal fee and the expiration is on the 30th of June every year.

What If I Move or I change Jobs?

If you relocate or change employers, it is your responsibility to contact the State Board of Pharmacy to submit a written report of these changes.

Additional Information about Pharmacy Technician Requirements in South Carolina:

  • 7. Pharmacy technicians will be required to have their licenses displayed at their place of employment, as well as keeping their registration on them at all times during their work shift.
  • 8. The pharmacist who is in charge is responsible for all of the actions of each pharmacy technician under their supervision.
  • 9. A pharmacy technician may only perform pharmacy tasks that do not require professional judgment.
  • 10. The pharmacist in charge may supervise 2 technicians at one time, unless 2 of them are nationally certified. In which case, the pharmacist in charge can supervise 3 technicians during one shift.

Rhode Island (RI) Pharmacy Technician

There are some important things for you to know, and steps for you to take, if you are pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician. If you want to be successful in your career, it is important to understand the process and to take the rules and regulations into consideration.

Are Pharmacy Technicians Regulated In Rhode Island?

Yes they are regulated.

Does Rhode Island Require Certification To Practice As A Pharmacy Technician?

No, certification is not required, but the state of Rhode Island issues two different licenses; there’s a license for those who are not nationally certified (tech 1), and there’s a license for those who are nationally certified (tech 2).

Which Of the Certification Exams Are Approved By Rhode Island?

The ICPT (ExCPT) and the PTCB (PTCE).

What Are the Registration Dates?

You need to register before you can start working. You must apply for and receive proof of registration prior to employment.

Is A License Required?

Yes a license is required.

The Rhode Island State Board of Pharmacy Information:

Address: 3 Capitol Hill, Room 205
Providence, RI 02908-5097
Phone: (401)222-2840
Fax: (401)222-2158
website:http://www.health.ri.gov/hsr/professions/pharmacy.php

Are There Any Professional Associations?

The Rhode Island Pharmacists Association, which can be reached on their website atwww.ripharmacists.org.

What Are the Requirements To Become Licensed As A Pharmacy Technician in RI?

  • 1. You must be at least 18 years of age or older.
  • 2. You should have a high school diploma or equivalent, or you can also be enrolled in a program, in which you
  • would be in the process of getting the degree.
  • 3. If you are not certified, you must be enrolled in a board approved pharmacy technician training program, which
  • may or may not be provided by your employer.
  • 4. With your $40 non refundable application fee, you must submit your written pharmacy technician registration
  • application (tech 1 or tech 2) to the Rhode Island State Board of Pharmacy and request registration. The application
  • can be found at http://www.health.ri.gov/applications/PharmacyTechnician.pdf
  • 5. Also you should be sure to have your application notarized.
  • 6. You should have no felony convictions that involve drug abuse.

Is There Any Training That Is Required?

Yes, both tech 1 and tech 2 licensing require passing a Board-approved training program.

Are There Any Continuing Education (CE) Requirements?

No, there are not any CE requirements unless you are nationally certified. In which case, maintaining your certification requires 20 units of continuing education every 2 years.

How Often Is Renewal Required?

Renewal is required annually. Pharmacy Technician registrations expire June 30 of each year. The renewal fee is $40. Renewal forms will be sent out by the Board of Pharmacy.

What If I Relocate or I Change Jobs?

If you move or change jobs, it is your responsibility to contact the board of pharmacy and report the change in writing.

Additional Information about Pharmacy Technicians Requirements in Rhode Island:

  • 7. Pharmacy technicians must be clearly identified to the public as pharmacy technicians by wearing name tags
  • identifying themselves as pharmacy technicians and display their licenses at all times during their work shift.
  • 8. A pharmacy technician may only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment.
  • 9. The pharmacist who is in charge is responsible for all of the actions of each pharmacy technician under their
  • supervision.

Oklahoma (OK) Pharmacy Technician

There are some important things for you to know, and steps for you to take, if you are pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician. If you want to be successful, it is important to understand the process and to take the rules and regulations into consideration.

Are Pharmacy Technicians Regulated In Oklahoma?

Yes, they are regulated.

Is Certification Required In Oklahoma To Practice As A Pharmacy Technician?

No, certification is not required to practice as a pharmacy technician, but would most certainly make you a more likable candidate for employment.

Which Of the Certification Exams Are Approved By Oklahoma?

None, but employers may have certain requirements regarding national certification.

What Are the Registration Dates?

You must go through a pharmacy technician training program before you can register. After registration you will get more on the job training from your employer.

Is A License Required?

Yes, a license is required.

The Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy Information

Office: 4545 Lincoln Blvd., Suite 112
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-3488
Telephone: (405) 521-3815
Fax: (405) 521-3758
website: http://www.pharmacy.ok.gov

Are There Any Professional Associations?

The Oklahoma Pharmacists Association, which can be reached at www.opha.org.

What Are the Requirements To Become Licensed?

  • 1. Be employed in a pharmacy.
  • 2. Complete Phases 1 and 2 of the Pharmacy Technician Training Program at your place of employment.
  • 3. With your $40 non refundable application fee, you submit your pharmacy technician registration application to the Oklahoma State Board of pharmacy and request registration.
  • 4. You must also submit an affidavit affirming citizenship, lawful permanent residence, and/or immigration status information.

Will There Be Training Required?

The pharmacist in charge will be responsible for the training.

Are There Requirements for Continuing Education (CE)?

No, there are no requirements for continuing education.

When Is Renewal Required?

Renewal is required annually. The $40 renewal fee must be included with your application as well. The application for renewal can be found at: http://www.ok.gov/OSBP/documents/tech0708.pdf. The registration will expire on the last day of the pharmacy technician’s birth month.

What If I Relocate or I Change Jobs?

If you happen relocate or change employers, it is your responsibility to contact the board and report those changes.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in Oklahoma:

Heritage Education

Address: 7202 S. I-35 Service Rd., Oklahoma City, OK 73149
Phone: (405) 631-3399
Website: http://www.heritage-education.com/cp_pharmacytech.htm

Tulsa Community College

Address: 909 South Boston Avenue Tulsa, OK 74119-2095
Phone: (918)595-7005
Website: http://m.tulsacc.edu/campuses-and-centers/metro-campus/metro-divisions/allied-health/pharmacy-technology

Oklahoma City Community College

Address: 7777 S. May Ave. Oklahoma City, OK 73159
Phone: (405) 682-1611
Website: http://www.occc.edu/news/2012/pharmacytechsummer2012.html

Oklahoma Board of Career and Technology Education (OBCTE)

1500 West Seventh Ave.
Stillwater, OK 74074
Phone (405) 377-2000, 1-800-522-5810
Fax (405) 743-6809

Additional Information about Pharmacy Technicians Requirements in Oklahoma:

  • 5. Pharmacy technicians must wear name tags identifying themselves as pharmacy technicians at all times during their work shift.
  • 6. The pharmacist who is in charge is responsible for all of the pharmacy technician’s actions.
  • 7. A technician may only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgement.
  • 8. The pharmacist who is in charge may supervise up to 2 pharmacy technicians at a time.

Ohio (OH) Pharmacy Technician Certification Info

There are some important things for you to know, and steps for you to take, if you are pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician. If you want to be successful, it is important to understand the process and to take the rules and regulations into consideration.

Are Pharmacy Technicians Regulated In Ohio?

Yes they are regulated.

Is Certification Required In Ohio To Practice As A Pharmacy Technician?

No, certification is not required.

Which Of the Certification Exams Are Approved By Ohio?

The ICPT (ExCPT) and the PTCB (PTCE).

Prepare Yourself

It is important to prepare yourself in order to be successful. There’s never enough knowledge for one to obtain. Below are a couple of websites that could be useful for you to help prepare for your career as a pharmacy technician.

PTCB Exam Preparation Books:

  • 3. Pharmacy Technician Workbook And Certification Review by Joseph Medina
  • 4. Reference Guide for Pharmacy Technician Exam by Manan Shroff
  • 5. Delmar’s Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam Review by Patricia K. Anthony

What Are the Registration Dates?

Registration is not required.

Is A License Required?

No, a license is not required.

The Ohio State Board of Pharmacy Information:

Office: 77 S High St, Room 1702
Columbus, OH 43215-6126
Telephone: (614) 466-4143
Fax: (614) 752-4836
website: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov

Are There Any Professional Associations?

The Ohio Pharmacists Association, which can be reached at http://associationdatabase.com.

What Are the Requirements To Become Licensed?

    • 6. You must be 18 years of age or older.
    • 7. You must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
    • 8. Complete 2 criminal background checks. Ohio requires two criminal background checks: one by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation, and one by the FBI.
    • 9. Complete a board approved exam given by your employer. You may work as a pharmacy technician for up to one year as long as you are studying and intend to take the exam.

Will There Be Training Required?

Yes, the pharmacist in charge will be responsible for the training.

Are There Requirements for Continuing Education (CE)?

No, there are not. But if you are nationally certified, maintaining your certification requires 20 units of continuing education every two years.

When Is Renewal Required?

Renewal is not required.

What If I Move Or Change Jobs?

If you change employers or relocate, it is your responsibility to contact the board to report those changes.

Additional Information about Pharmacy Technicians Requirements in Ohio:

  • 10. A technician may only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment.
  • 11. The pharmacist in charge is responsible for all of the pharmacy technician’s actions.

Schools for Pharmacy Technicians in Ohio:

Columbus State Community College

Phone: 614-287-5858
Address: 315 Cleveland Avenue PO Box 1609
Columbus, OH 43215
Website: http://www.cscc.edu/WORKFORCE/pharmtech/index.shtml

School Of Pharmacy Technology

Phone: 800-223-2273
Address: 9500 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio 44195
Columbus, OH 43215
Website: http://my.clevelandclinic.org/cleveland-clinic-pharmacies/pharmacy-education/school-pharmacy-technology.aspx

Tri-C

Phone: 800-954-8742
Address: 700 Carnegie Ave. Cleveland, Ohio 44115
Website: http://www.tri-c.edu/programs/healthcareers/pharmacy/Pages/CertificatePharmacyTechnician.aspx

North Dakota (ND) Pharmacy Tech Certification, Requirements, Info

There are some important things for you to know if you are pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician.

Are Pharmacy Technicians Regulated In North Dakota?

Yes they are.

Is Certification Required In North Dakota To Practice As A Pharmacy Technician?

Yes. You must get certified by March 2014 if you are currently employed as a licensed pharmacy technician.

Which Of the Certification Exams Are Approved By North Dakota?

The PTCB (PTCE)

What Are the Registration Dates?

Once you have completed a training and education program that is approved by the Board of Pharmacy and get certified, you can apply for registration. You also have the option to apply for a status that states that you are a pharmacy technician in training, which allows you 2 more years to complete the licensing requirements.

Is A License Required?

Yes a license is required.

The North Dakota Board of Pharmacy Information:

Office: 1906 E. Broadway Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58501-1354
Mail: PO Box 94986
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986
Telephone: (701) 328-9535
Fax: (701) 328-9536
website: www.nodakpharmacy.com

Are There Any Professional Associations?

The North Dakota Pharmacists Association, which can be reached at www.nodakpharmacy.net

What Are the Requirements To Become Licensed?

  • 1. Completion of a training and education program that is approved by the Board of Pharmacy at your place of employment that is given by the pharmacist in charge. As of January 10, 2011, the programs accredited by the American Society of Health Systems Pharmacists are the only programs that are approved by the board.
  • 2. Pass the PTCE and get national certification.
  • 3. With your $30 non refundable application fee and a copy if your photo I.D, submit your pharmacy technician registration application to the North Dakota State Board of Pharmacy and request registration.
  • 4. Or with a $10 application fee and a copy of your I.D, you may also submit an application to the North Dakota State Board of Pharmacy requesting registration as the stays of a pharmacy technician who is in training. This will give you 2 more years to complete training, giving you the opportunity to reach out to the North Dakota licensure as a certified pharmacy technician.

Will There Be Training Required?

Yes, the pharmacist in charge will be responsible for the training.

Are There Requirements for Continuing Education (CE)?

There is CE required after your first registration year. Every year you will need 10 hours of CE before you can renew. Also keep in mind that when you are nationally certified, you will need to comply with the CE requirements to stay nationally certified.

When Is Renewal Required?

Renewal is required by the 1st of March every year. There is a renewal fee of $35. You can find the renewal application at:https://secure.nodakpharmacy.com/renewal/loginrenewal_people.asp.

What If I Move Or Change Jobs?

If you relocate or change employers, it is your responsibility to notify the board and report these changes within 15 days.

Additional Information about Pharmacy Technician Requirements in North Dakota:

  • 5. Pharmacy technicians are required to wear their name tags which identify themselves as technicians throughout each work shift.
  • 6. The pharmacist in charge is responsible for all of the pharmacy technician’s actions.
  • 7. A technician may only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment.
  • 8. The pharmacist in charge may supervise up to 3 or 4 pharmacy technicians at a time; this will depend on the work environment.

North Carolina (NC) Pharmacy Technician State Guide

There are some important things for you to know, and steps for you to take, if you are pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician. If you want to be successful, it is important to understand the process and to take the rules and regulations into consideration.

Are Pharmacy Technicians Regulated In North Carolina?

Yes they are.

Is Certification Required In North Carolina To Practice As A Pharmacy Technician?

No, certification is not required.

Which Of the Certification Exams Are Approved By North Carolina?

The PTCB (PTCE).

Books to Help Prepare For Your PTCB (PTCE) Certification

  • 1. Mosby’s Review for the PTCB Certification Examination by James J. Mizner
  • 2. Secrets of the PTCB Exam Study Guide: PTCB Test Review for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Examination by Mometrix Media LLC
  • 3. Pharmacy Technician Certified Board Preparation: Comprehensive Review Manual by Anne Nguyen, Lauren Nguyen, and Christina Pham.

Also, check out http://www.pharmacy-tech-study.com/ to view the free study guide for pharmacy technician students. This will help you prepare for your certification exams and help you obtain the knowledge needed to succeed.

What Are the Registration Dates?

Before registering, you must have completed a training program provided by the supervising pharmacist at your employment. Following that training you must apply for registration within 30 days.

Is A License Required?

Yes a license is required.

The North Carolina State Board of Pharmacy Information

Office: 6015 Farrington Road, Suite 201
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Mail: PO Box 4560
Chapel Hill, NC 27515-4560
Telephone: (919)246-1050
Fax: (919)246-1056
website: www.ncbop.org

Are There Any Professional Associations?

The North Carolina Association of Pharmacists and they can be reached at www.ncpharmacists.org.

What Are the Requirements To Become Licensed?

    • 4. You must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
    • 5. With your $30 non refundable application fee, you submit your pharmacy technician registration application to the North Carolina State Board of pharmacy and request registration.
    • 6. Within 180 days of employment, complete a training program provided by the pharmacist in charge at your place of work.
    • OR

    • 7. Complete pharmacy technician training program at a community college.
    • OR

  • 8. Earn your PTCB certification and register with the State Board of Pharmacy. This option is ideal for anyone looking to be successful in this career.

Will There Be Any Training Required?

Yes, the pharmacist in charge at your place of employment will be responsible for all the training.

Are There Requirements for Continuing Education (CE)?

There are no requirements for continuing education.

When Will Renewal Be Required?

Renewal is required annually. There is a $30 renewal fee. Pharmacy Technician registrations expire December 31st.

What If I Relocate or I Change Jobs?

If you move or change jobs, it is your responsibility to contact the state board and report these changes as soon as possible. You can report these changes online on the North Carolina State Board of Pharmacy website www.ncbop.org.

Additional Information about Pharmacy Technicians Requirements in North Carolina:

  • 9. A technician may only perform pharmacy tasks that do not require any professional judgment.
  • 10. The pharmacist in charge is responsible for all of the pharmacy technician’s actions.
  • 11. The pharmacist in charge may supervise up to 2 pharmacy technicians at one time, unless one of the technicians is nationally certified, in which case the pharmacist may be allowed to supervise three technicians.

New York (NY) Pharmacy Technician Information

There are some important things for you to know, and steps for you to take, if you are pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician. If you want to be successful, it is important to understand the process and to take the rules and regulations into consideration.

Are Pharmacy Technicians Regulated in New York?

No, pharmacy technicians are not currently regulated in New York, but that may change in the near future. The New York State Office of the Professions is currently discussing this issue.

Is Certification Required in New York to Practice as a Pharmacy Technician?

No, but there may be some employers with larger companies that might require certification. It would be wise of anyone pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician to get ExCPT certified. The ExCPT certification provides national recognition of your knowledge and skills and is a great asset to have, giving you a better chance of gaining employment.

If interested in becoming certified, you can get certified in just 6 weeks at the Manhattan Institute, NY. They offer day, evening and weekend classes at affordable rates, with the option to pay as you go. All students receive a diploma and life time placement advisement upon graduation.

Address: 255 Fifth Avenue, New York City, New York, USA
Website: http://www.learn4good.com/colleges/pharmacy_technician_certification_training.htm

What are Registration Dates?

Registration is not required.

Is a License Required?

No, a license is not required.

The New York State Board of Pharmacy Information

Lawrence H. Mokhiber
Executive Secretary
State Education Building
89 Washington Avenue, Room 201
Albany, NY 12234
Telephone: (518) 474-3817 ext. 130
Fax: (518) 473-6995
Website: http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/pharm Email: pharmbd@mail.nysed.gov

Are There Any Professional Associations?

The New York State Council of Health-system Pharmacists, and they can be reached at http://www.nyschp.org

What are the Requirements to Become a Pharmacy Technician in New York?

  • 1. You must be hired as a pharmacy technician by a retail or hospital pharmacy.
  • 2. Each employer will determine job requirements and qualifications for pharmacy technicians. It would be beneficial to anyone pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician to get as much information as possible from potential employers about the job skills and experience they require.
  • 3. Many employers require high school level education at a minimum. Some prefer you to have an associate’s degree or a certificate of completion from a pharmacy technician training program.

Will There be Training Required?

The pharmacist in charge will be responsible for the training.

Are There Requirements for Continuing Education (CE)?

No, there are not any requirements for continuing education, but if you are nationally certified you will have to meet those requirements to stay certified. Maintaining your certification requires 20 units of continuing education every 2 years, including at least one hour of pharmacy law.

When Is Renewal Required?

Renewal is not currently required.

Additional Information about Pharmacy Technicians Requirements in New York

  • 4. The pharmacist in charge is responsible for all of the pharmacy technicians’ actions.
  • 5. The pharmacist in charge may supervise up to 2 pharmacy technicians at one time.
  • 6. A pharmacy technician may only perform pharmacy functions that do not require any professional judgment.

Although certification is not required in the state of New York, you will have a much better chance of gaining employment if certified, as well as obtaining the necessary knowledge to be successful in your career.

New Mexico (NM) Pharmacy Technician Certification, Requirements, State Board Info

There are some important things for you to know, and steps for you to take, if you are pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician. If you want to be successful, it is important to understand the process and the rules and regulations.

Are Pharmacy Technicians Regulated In New Mexico?

Yes pharmacy technicians are regulated in New Mexico.

Is Certification Required In New Mexico To Practice As A Pharmacy Technician?

Yes certification is required to practice as a pharmacy technician, but as long as you are in the process of getting certified, you are able to work as an uncertified pharmacy technician for up to one year.

Which Of the Certification Exams Are Approved By New Mexico?

The ICPT (ExCPT) and the PTCB (PTCE).

What Are the Registration Dates?

Before employment begins, registration should take place.

Is A License Required?

Yes a license is required.

The New Mexico State Board of Pharmacy Information

5200 Oakland NE, Ste A
Albuquerque, NM 87113
Office: (505) 222- 9830
Fax: (505) 222- 9845
website: www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/pharmacy.aspx

Are There Any Professional Associations?

The New Mexico Pharmacists Association, at www.nm-pharmacy.com.

What Are the Requirements To Become Licensed?

  • 1. With your $30 non refundable application fee, you submit your pharmacy technician registration application to the New Mexico State Board of pharmacy and request registration.
  • 2. After registering, you will have one year to become certified nationally, if you aren’t already. You will be required to complete a training program that’s approved by the board with a minimum of 220 hours and pass the PTCE or the ExCPT within that year.

Will There Be Training Required?

The supervising pharmacist will be responsible for the training.

Are There Requirements for Continuing Education (CE)?

No there are no requirements for continuing education, but if you are nationally certified you will have to meet the requirements to maintain certification. Continuing your certification requires 20 units of CE every 2 years.

You also must attend a live law update given by the NMBOP. If you are unable to attend the live law update, you can request to take a written law exam instead. The written law exam fee is $100. You can make your reservations to the live law update by contacting Jessica Chavez-Lance at (505) 222-9830 or Jessica.Chavez-Lanc@state.nm.us.

When Is Renewal Required?

Renewal is required every other year. The renewal fee is $30. The registration expire’s on the last day of your birth month.

What If I Relocate or I Change Jobs?

If you move or change jobs, it is your responsibility to contact the board to submit a written notice within 10 days of these changes.

PTCB Exam Preparation Books:

  • 1 Pharmacy Technician Workbook And Certification Review by Joseph Medina
  • 2 Reference Guide for Pharmacy Technician Exam by Manan Shroff
  • 3 Delmar’s Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam Review by Patricia K. Anthony

Additional Information about Pharmacy Technician Requirements in New Mexico:

  • 1. The pharmacist in charge is responsible for all of the pharmacy technician’s actions.
  • 2. The pharmacist in charge may supervise up to 4 pharmacy technicians at a time.
  • 3. Pharmacy technicians must wear name tags that identify themselves as a technician and display their registration certificates at all times during each shift.
  • 4. A technician may only perform pharmacy tasks that do not require any professional judgment.