The following information is vital for a successful career in this rapidly growing profession if you are interested in becoming a pharmacy technician in New Jersey.
Are Pharmacy Technicians Regulated in New Jersey?
Pharmacy technicians in New Jersey are regulated by the New Jersey State Board of Pharmacy.
Does New Jersey Require Certification To Practice As A Pharmacy Technician?
Any person who is hired as a pharmacy technician who is not registered with the Board shall be designated a pharmacy technician applicant. A person may only be considered a pharmacy technician applicant one time and only for a maximum of 180 consecutive days. During the first 10 days of employment, the pharmacy technician applicant must file an application with the Board to begin the registration process. If at the end of the 180 day period the applicant has not completed the pharmacy technician registration process, the applicant will have to cease performing pharmacy technician functions in the pharmacy.
Although not all states require certification, most allied health professionals recommend that you get your certification anyway. National certification allows you to work in other states, and also gives you an advantage on job interviews, increases your marketability and opens the way for a higher salary.
The recommended national certification exam is the PTCE www.ptcb.org, which will earn you the title of Certified Pharmacy Technician and CPhT behind your name.
What is required For the Pharmacy Technician Licensure or Registration in the State of New Jersey?
- 1. You must be at least 18 years of age.
- 2. You must be fluent in the English language, including speaking, writing, and reading (fluency in other languages makes you a valued asset).
- 3. Have earned a high school diploma or GED equivalent.
- 4. Be free of any felony convictions within five years of applying that may have a negative effect on your duties as a pharmacy technician.
When is Renewal Required?
Pharmacy technicians must renew their registration every two years with the New Jersey State Board of Pharmacy.
What Are the Continuing Education Requirements?
No continuing education is required in the state of New Jersey unless the pharmacy technician is nationally certified; PTCE (www.ptcb.org) or ExCPT (www.nhanow.com/pharmacy-technician.aspx). The pharmacy technician is responsible for completing any required continuing education credits as specified by the issuing entity of their certification.
What if I Move, Change Jobs, or Have a Name Change?
If a registered pharmacy technician legally changes the name under which he or she has been practicing as a pharmacy technician, the pharmacy technician shall notify the Board within 30 days of such change.
A registered pharmacy technician shall notify the Board in writing of any change in his or her address of record within 30 days of such change.
The New Jersey State Board of Pharmacy Information:
P.O. Box 45013
Newark, NJ 07101
Here Are A Few More Tips:
- 1. Pharmacy technicians should be dependable, detail oriented, and trustworthy.
- 2. Health, hygiene, and appearance must all be personal guidelines that a pharmacy technician should follow.
- 3. Pharmacy technicians must be capable and competent in the following skill areas: mathematics and problem solving, language and terminology, computer skills, and interpersonal skills.
- 4. In order to perform your job as required, a pharmacy technician must continually learn new information. This is a critical element to maintaining competency in a field that changes constantly.