There are some important things for you to know, and steps for you to take, if you are pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician. If you want to be successful, it is important to understand the process and the rules and regulations.
Are Pharmacy Technicians Regulated In New Mexico?
Yes pharmacy technicians are regulated in New Mexico.
Is Certification Required In New Mexico To Practice As A Pharmacy Technician?
Yes certification is required to practice as a pharmacy technician, but as long as you are in the process of getting certified, you are able to work as an uncertified pharmacy technician for up to one year.
Which Of the Certification Exams Are Approved By New Mexico?
The ICPT (ExCPT) and the PTCB (PTCE).
What Are the Registration Dates?
Before employment begins, registration should take place.
Is A License Required?
Yes a license is required.
The New Mexico State Board of Pharmacy Information
5200 Oakland NE, Ste A
Albuquerque, NM 87113
Office: (505) 222- 9830
Fax: (505) 222- 9845
Are There Any Professional Associations?
The New Mexico Pharmacists Association, at www.nm-pharmacy.com.
What Are the Requirements To Become Licensed?
- 1. With your $30 non refundable application fee, you submit your pharmacy technician registration application to the New Mexico State Board of pharmacy and request registration.
- 2. After registering, you will have one year to become certified nationally, if you aren’t already. You will be required to complete a training program that’s approved by the board with a minimum of 220 hours and pass the PTCE or the ExCPT within that year.
Will There Be Training Required?
The supervising pharmacist will be responsible for the training.
Are There Requirements for Continuing Education (CE)?
No there are no requirements for continuing education, but if you are nationally certified you will have to meet the requirements to maintain certification. Continuing your certification requires 20 units of CE every 2 years.
You also must attend a live law update given by the NMBOP. If you are unable to attend the live law update, you can request to take a written law exam instead. The written law exam fee is $100. You can make your reservations to the live law update by contacting Jessica Chavez-Lance at (505) 222-9830 or Jessica.Chavez-Lanc@state.nm.us.
When Is Renewal Required?
Renewal is required every other year. The renewal fee is $30. The registration expire’s on the last day of your birth month.
What If I Relocate or I Change Jobs?
If you move or change jobs, it is your responsibility to contact the board to submit a written notice within 10 days of these changes.
PTCB Exam Preparation Books:
- 1 Pharmacy Technician Workbook And Certification Review by Joseph Medina
- 2 Reference Guide for Pharmacy Technician Exam by Manan Shroff
- 3 Delmar’s Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam Review by Patricia K. Anthony
Additional Information about Pharmacy Technician Requirements in New Mexico:
- 1. The pharmacist in charge is responsible for all of the pharmacy technician’s actions.
- 2. The pharmacist in charge may supervise up to 4 pharmacy technicians at a time.
- 3. Pharmacy technicians must wear name tags that identify themselves as a technician and display their registration certificates at all times during each shift.
- 4. A technician may only perform pharmacy tasks that do not require any professional judgment.